803 S Jefferson St #4, Moscow, ID 83843

Misdemeanor Defense

Idaho & Washington Misdemeanor Defense Law Firm

If you were charged with a misdemeanor crime in Moscow Idaho, Pullman Washington or surrounding area, Mosman & Monson Attorneys at Law can assist you in your defense.  Our knowledgeable lawyers have years of experience working with people charged with felony crimes and misdemeanors. Call Mosman & Monson Attorneys at Law today to schedule a time to discuss your case and determine your legal options.

FAQ

In Washington, there are two classes of misdemeanors: the lease serious of which is a “misdemeanor” which punishable by up to 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine and a “gross misdemeanor” which punishable by up to 364 days of jail and a $5,000 fine or both.

If you are charged with a misdemeanor, you will have been given a citation prepared by a police officer, or a complaint prepared by the prosecutor. The citation or complaint will include a short statement of the offense with which you are charged.

Examples of misdemeanors include:

  • Disorderly conduct
  • Driving with a suspended license (at a time when you are eligible to reinstate your license)

Examples of gross misdemeanors include:

  • DUI
  • MIP
  • Making a false statement
  • Assault in the fourth degree
  • Shoplifting
  • Theft of property or services with a value of less than $750
  • Driving with a suspended license (at a time when you are ineligible to reinstate your license)
  • Violating a no contact order

In Washington, RCW 9A.04.080 provides a deadline for the state to prosecute a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor crimes.  Misdemeanors may not be prosecuted more than one year after the date of the alleged crime and gross misdemeanors may not be prosecuted more than two years after the date of the alleged crime. It is important to consult our attorneys to determine the appropriate timeframe (or statute of limitation) for the particular misdemeanor offense.

In Idaho, misdemeanors carry a penalty which can include up to one year in a county jail and a fine of up to $1,000 or both. If you are charged with a misdemeanor, you will have been given a citation prepared by a police officer, or a complaint prepared by a prosecutor. The citation or complaint will include a short statement of the offense with which you are charged.

Examples of misdemeanors include:

  • DUI
  • Reckless driving
  • Inattentive driving
  • Violating a no contact order
  • Fishing without a license
  • Disturbing the Peace

Idaho Code §19-403 provides a deadline for the state to prosecute a misdemeanor offense. Generally, misdemeanors must be prosecuted within a year after the date of the alleged crime. However, some misdemeanors may be prosecuted within four years or five years depending on the crime. It is important to consult our attorneys to determine the appropriate timeframe (or statute of limitation) for the particular misdemeanor offense.

Accused of a misdemeanor?

We can help protect your legal rights under the law.

Misdemeanor Defense Attorneys
Wynn-Mosman
Wynn Mosman
Partner, Attorney at Law
Mark-Monson
Mark Monson
Partner, Attorney at Law