Idaho & Washington MIP Defense Law Firm
If you or a loved one has been charged with a crime of minor in possession (MIP) in Idaho or Washington, it is critical that you consult with a criminal defense lawyer from Mosman Law Offices immediately. We focus on defending you and having the charges brought against you reduced or dismissed. We want to lessen the negative impact the case will have on your life. We understand the seriousness of any MIP charge and the serious consequences for the accused.
As one of the most recognized law firms in Moscow Idaho we have a proven track record for negotiating successful resolutions on MIP cases. We are prepared to aggressively defend you against MIP charges in Moscow Idaho, Lewiston Idaho, Pullman Washington, Clarkston Washington and the surrounding area. Contact us today so we can begin preparing an effective defense on your behalf.
Idaho & WASHINGTON MIP Penalties
- Infraction or Misdemeanor Conviction
- Mandatory Fines
- Mandatory License Suspension (If under 18)
In Washington, RCW 66.44.270(2)(a) states that if you are under the age of 21, it is illegal to possess, consume or otherwise acquire alcohol or liquor.
Not only is it illegal for a person under the age of 21 to possess, consume or otherwise acquire alcohol, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to exhibit the effects of having consumed liquor. This is also known as Minor in Consumption. “Exhibiting the effects of having consumed liquor” is defined by RCW 66.44.270(2)(b) as having the odor of liquor on your breath and you either (1) are in close proximity to a container that has or recently had liquor in it; or (2) exhibits that you are under the influence of liquor by speech, manner, appearance, behavior, lack of coordination, or otherwise.
If you are under the age of 18 and are charged with being a minor in possession of alcohol, you may lose your driver’s license for a period of 1 year. If you are found guilty and have a license from another state, you will not be able to apply for a Washington driver license while your license is revoked and you cannot drive in Washington with a license from another state while your license is revoked. In addition, Washington will notify your home state that your license was revoked, and they may take license action there.
Minor in Possession is considered a gross misdemeanor criminal offense and is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $5,000 or both.
Idaho Code §23-604 states that if you are under the age of 21, it is illegal to purchase, attempt to purchase, or otherwise consume or possess any alcoholic beverage. The first offense in Idaho is considered an infraction and is punishable by a fine of $300. A second or subsequent offense is considered a criminal misdemeanor.
If you are convicted of a misdemeanor offense, the court shall suspend your driving privileges for up to a year. However, you may be eligible for restricted driving privileges during that time. If you are convicted of a second misdemeanor offense, the court will suspend your driving privileges for up to 2 years. The court may also order you to undergo and complete an alcohol evaluation and to complete an alcohol treatment or education program.
We can help protect your legal rights under the law.